2017 High School Sports Fall Parent Letter

Dear Parent/Guardian,

Your child has expressed an interest in participating in a fall sport at Holland Public Schools. We hope that the information provided in this letter will help you to prepare for the upcoming season.

In order for your child to participate, the following requirements must be met:

  • A current physical examination form must be on file in the athletic office prior to the first practice or submitted to the coach on the first day of practice. In order to be valid for the 2017-18 school year, the physical must have taken place on or after April 15, 2017. Physicals completed prior to this date will not be accepted. The form must also be signed by the parent/guardian and the student. 
  • Insurance fee of $30 per SCHOOL YEAR must be paid to the athletic office prior to the first practice/tryouts or submitted to the coach on the first day of practice/tryouts. The insurance fee can be waived by submitting a waiver form to the athletic office prior to the first day. Waiver forms are available online at www.hollanddutchsports.com and in the main office at each school.

Tryouts and practices for high school fall sports begin the week of August 7th. Practice/tryout start dates and contact information are listed below. Practice times and locations are available here.

Football – Monday, August 7th – Coach Pratley – apratley@hollandpublicschools.org
Cheerleading – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach Yarbrough – qyarbrou@hollandpublicschools.org
Boys & Girls Cross Country – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach Martens – amartens@hollandpublicschools.org
Girls Golf – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach Flinn – flinn@hope.edu
Boys Soccer – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach Ceithaml – gceitham@hollandpublicschools.org
Girls Swimming & Diving – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach TBA
Boys Tennis – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach Kreps – kkreps2@hollandpublicschools.org
Volleyball – Wednesday, August 9th – Coach Rumpsa – krumpsa@hollandpublicschools.org

Participants are expected to attend all practices. Practice and contest schedules for the remainder of the season will be distributed to participants during the first week of practice.

If you have any questions, please contact the athletic office at 616-494-2250 or bfarkas@hollandpublicschools.org

Sincerely,

Ben Farkas
Athletic Director
Holland Public Schools